Part 4: Project 6 – Exercise 3: Portrait from Memory or the Imagination

For this exercise, I decided to draw a female portrait from imagination. I always have this habit of drawing a beautiful young female face in a regency era hairstyle, this would often depict her face features with a beautiful nose and eyes that catch your attention.

I’m very used to drawing faces from my own vision or imagination, which I have been doing since a little child.

First Drawing – Final Drawing

For the first drawing in the A4 sketchbook, which I call this one as the final drawing. I used a black Conte pencil to do this drawing.

I love her piercing beautiful eyes and the elegant nose that draws your attention towards her eyes, she also is shown in an inspired regency hairstyle that appeared during the 1790’s. You can see this drawing in Fig. 1 “Imagination Portrait – Black Conte Pencil in A4 Sketchbook, Page 35“, below.

Fig. 1 Imagination Portrait – Black Conte Pencil in A4 Sketchbook, Page 35

Second Drawing

For the second drawing which I used a 2mm graphite clutch pencil 2B in the A4 sketchbook. This shows her face in a slight turned angle and looking up in a calming mood. You can see the drawing in Fig. 2 “Imagination Portrait – 2mm Graphite Clutch Pencil 2B in A4 Sketchbook, Page 36“, below.

Fig. 2 Imagination Portrait – 2mm Graphite Clutch Pencil 2B in A4 Sketchbook, Page 36

Third Drawing – Different Mood Looks

For this drawing, I used a black gel pen in the A4 sketchbook. These show my imaginative lady in her different mood looks and these were quick sketches. You can see them in Fig. 3 “Imagination Portrait Different Moods – Black Gel Pen in A4 Sketchbook, Page 37“, below.

Fig. 3 Imagination Portrait Different Moods – Black Gel Pen in A4 Sketchbook, Page 37

Log Book Notes

Here is a page from my log book, these are the answers for the questions that were asked in the exercise 3 on page 110. You can see it in Fig. 4 “Log Book Note“, below.

Fig. 4 Log Book Note

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.