Part 4: Project 6 – Exercise 2: Your Own Head

For this exercise, I posed myself in front of a mirror and drew my own head from different angles in the A3 sketchbook with the use of different mediums such as graphite, charcoal and Conte black pencil.

In the A3 sketchbook, each of these several drawings were done within five-minutes. In the beginning, I had some struggling moments with trying to get some likeness of myself in the drawings, but I knew it didn’t have to be accurate, but then in the later stage drawings, I started picking up my likeness well.

First – Sketchbook A3 – Self-Portrait Drawings

First Self-Portrait Drawing

For the first drawing, I did it with a willow charcoal stick and a putty eraser in the A3 sketchbook on page seven, this view was from looking straight at the mirror. I love the energy and tonal values in this self-portrait, but it doesn’t have my likeness, or maybe I’m just looking at myself when I was ten years younger, which is pretty harsh to say about myself, haha.

You can see the drawing in Fig 1 “Front View Self-Portrait – Willow Charcoal Sticks, A3 Sketchbook (Page 7)“, below.

Fig 1 Front View Self-Portrait – Willow Charcoal Sticks, A3 Sketchbook (Page 7)

Second Self-Portrait Drawing

For the second self-portrait drawing, I used a Conte 4B black compressed charcoal stick in the A3 sketchbook on page eight. I find it very uncomfortable to used a charcoal compressed stick than a willow charcoal stick. The likeness is nothing like me and I find myself not impressed with the facial proportions, the eyes are too big and out of space. But it also shows wonderful expression in the face like I’m looking very curious about what’s going on in my drawing.

You can see this drawing in Fig 2 “Slight Angle View Self-Portrait – Black Conte Compressed Charcoal 4B, A3 Sketchbook (Page 8)“, below.

Fig 2 Slight Angle View Self-Portrait – Black Conte Compressed Charcoal 4B, A3 Sketchbook (Page 8)

Third Self-Portrait Drawing

In this drawing, I used a black Conte Pierre Noire pencil in the A3 sketchbook on page nine. I love this drawing, because I kept my pencil moving around the drawing. I find my likeness way better here, also I can recognized my high cheekbones. My eyes capture the mood expression that I’m feeling. The tonal values and mark-makings are great and the light source makes sense to me in my self-portrait.

You can see this drawing in Fig. 3 “Tilted Back View Self-Portrait – Black Conte Pierre Noire Pencil, A3 Sketchbook (Page 9)“, below.

Fig. 3 Tilted Back View Self-Portrait – Black Conte Pierre Noire Pencil, A3 Sketchbook (Page 9)

Fourth Double Self-Portrait Drawings

In this drawing I used a 2B graphite 2mm clutch pencil without using the eraser in my A sketchbook on page ten. Each of these two drawings were done within five-minutes. I find the top looking down view point drawing better and has my likeness also. But the bottom drawing doesn’t have any likeness and no tonal shadings or shapes structure.

You can see the two drawings in Fig 4 “Two Different Views Self-Portrait – 2B Graphite Clutch Pencil 2mm, A3 Sketchbook (Page 10)“, below.

Fig 4 Two Different Views Self-Portrait – 2B Graphite Clutch Pencil 2mm, A3 Sketchbook (Page 10)

Notes for the A3 Sketchbook Self-Portrait Drawings

  • I find these drawings great for learning to warm-up and be prepared for the second drawing.
  • They give me some thoughts on what mark-makings will work for the second drawing.
  • This helps me to identify the proportion errors that I need to be prepared to fix before going onto the next drawing.

Second Final Self-Portrait Drawing

For the second interesting self-portrait drawing, I used acrylic drawing inks, sepia micron pen and black gel pen on an A3 white cartridge paper, 200gsm. I wanted to create some atmosphere with a lot of emotions in my self-portrait. I love using colour ink washes and pens as mark-making tools. So I planned on using the lines and cross-hatching mark-makings for this drawing.

The ink colours were navy blue, orange, sepia, black and olive. I used a sepia micron pen mostly in the face areas, because it blends well with the skin tones. Then I use the black gel pen for the hair and the green jersey. I find all these mediums wonderful and they give a very calming movement style.

The proportions and likeness is great, but I feel like I made my nose a bit longer in the drawing. This self-portrait drawing was done within 30-minutes. I find this drawing the most favourite so far in this exercise, it just captures my art style, my feelings and colours.

You can see this drawing in Fig 5 “Final Self-Portrait – Ink Washes, Sepia Micron Pen & Black Gel Pen, A3 White Cartridge 200gsm“, below

Fig 5 Final Self-Portrait – Ink Washes, Sepia Micron Pen & Black Gel Pen, A3 White Cartridge 200gsm

Here is a close-up details of the mark-makings of the second final drawing, see in Fig. 6 “Final Self-Portrait (Close-Up) – Ink Washes, Sepia Micron Pen & Black Gel Pen, A3 White Cartridge 200gsm“, below.

Fig. 6 Final Self-Portrait (Close-Up) – Ink Washes, Sepia Micron Pen & Black Gel Pen, A3 White Cartridge 200gsm

Log Book Notes

Here is my log book written notes for this exercise, see in Fig. 7 “Log Book Notes“, below.

Fig. 7 Log Book Notes

One thought on “Part 4: Project 6 – Exercise 2: Your Own Head

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.