Part 2: Project 3 – Exercise 4: Monochrome

For this exercise, was very interesting in the way of creating a drawing with using only one colour. I find using one colour can make a good learning lesson on how to make different tonal shades. It’s a brilliant way to practice and teach a learning student with less drawing experience on how tonal values are very important to create a very interesting subject.

So I selected objects that are man-made and natural for this exercise. I selected objects that describe the adventurous life and memories, because they come from different cultural countries such as Thailand, Egypt, Karoo areas.

Objects For This Exercise in (Figure 1):

Man-Made Objects:

  • Green Glaze Vase from Egypt.
  • Little Leather Purse from Thailand.
  • Dark Wooden Bangle from the Karoo area.
  • World War Two Trunk that belonged to my grandmother’s father Laurie.

Natural Objects:

  • One Yellow Lemon
  • Two Bright Green Limes
  • Dried Old Leaves

 

Still Life Objects
Figure 1 – Selected Objects

First Step:

For the first step, I decided to set up the objects on the old trunk next to a window with the sunlight striking on the objects from one side. Next was to do some rough sketches on a page in my A4 sketchbook, as you can see the different view points and composition in (Figure 2) below.

Rough Sketches from A4 Sketchbook
Figure 2 – Rough Sketch in A4 Sketchbook

Second Step:

Also after doing the rough sketches and chose the view point for my final drawing which was the image no.1, because I find the close-up interesting. After selecting my view point, I went to write down some information in my Log Book, such as which view point I liked the most, also what medium I chose to use in this exercise. You can see in my log book under as page 1 in (Figure 3) below.

Page 1 - Log Book
Figure 3 – Log Book Page 1

Then on page 2 in my log book, I did some little colour tests with acrylic drawing ink and oriental brush. These are the medium I’m using for this exercise, because this medium gives a lovely natural effect. So you can see in my log book under as page 2 in (Figure 4) below.

Page 2 - Log Book
Figure 4 – Log Book Page 2

Then after doing the colours tests, I chose the first colour, this colour was made with yellow and turquoise acrylic drawing inks. I found it a very natural colour for achieving the different tonal values, also it matches the cultural colours from these objects. So you can see in my log book under as page 3 in (Figure 5) below.

Page 3 - Log Book
Figure 5 – Log Book Page 3

Final Step:

So after finishing my log book information and planning for the final drawing. I got myself set up in front of the objects, and started drawing with a very light wash of the acrylic drawing ink as the beginning foundation. I did this on a Fabriano Disegno White Ecological Artist Paper, 200gsm, size was A3. This paper is wonderful for doing ink drawings and it has a lovely toothed surface.

I started from light wash to dark wash, this is a way I build up my drawing with acrylic drawing ink when I do figure drawing at class. It’s the only easy tip to do.

During this final drawing, I would take a twenty minutes break every hour to refresh my mind and then come back to my drawing and see what needs to be adjusted or darkened or fixed.

When the final drawing was done, I was very impressed with it’s outcome, especially capturing the different tones, glaze texture from the vase and the other textures on the objects. I kept the background with light wash ink and less detailed to make the main objects to be the focal point, which is very important to me in this exercise.

I’m very happy with the composition of the objects, tones that combine with energy and the contrast that stands out clear.

Here is the final drawing as seen in (Figure 6), below:

Final Drawing
Figure 6 – Final Drawing

Mediums used in the Final Drawing in (Figure 6):

  • Fabriano – Disegno: White Ecological Artist Paper, 200gsm, size was A3.
  • Acrylic Drawing Ink – Yellow and Turquoise made into one colour.
  • Oriental Brushes – Sizes: 2; 4; 6; 12.
  • Toilet Paper – For lifting the wet ink off paper.
  • Water – For diluting the ink.
  • Palette – For putting the ink in.

 

One thought on “Part 2: Project 3 – Exercise 4: Monochrome

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.